IMG_5938

So, you are probably wondering why I went to Trieste of all places – there was no sun and no warm weather to speak of.  Well I went because of this construction.  I learned about San Sabba during the first non-Italian language class I took, which was on WWII.  This is the only death camp from WWII on Italian soil, and I thought that I should see at least one while in Europe because it is such a fundamental part of the world’s history and still influences the world today.

San Sabba was originally a rice factory for Trieste – it was abandoned after WWI and then reopened as a transportation camp to Aushwitz-Birkenau during WWII.  Eventually, after Mussolini was forced out in 1943, it became a death camp.  (After the war, it was used as a refugee camp.)  What is interesting is that no one knows exactly how the Nazis killed their prisoners – when the Nazis fled, they destroyed both the crematorium and furnace along with all the documents.  The only thing known is that prisoners were not killed by gun because the Nazis could not have covered up the noise of a gunshot.  The current site is only about a fourth of the original.

I hesitate to use the word impressive because it seems extremely out-of-place but impactful doesn’t exactly work either.  All I can say, is that San Sabba was worth a visit it to because of the history it holds within it’s walls.  (taken 4.4.2015)

